Versatile Hummus

Image

I am actually not a fan of chickpeas. But hummus if made a certain way is fabulous! Chickpeas (also called garbanzo beans) are rich in vitamin B6, folate, manganese and dietary fiber. They also contain all nine essential amino acids and have a good amount of protein. And even though it is on the high side for carbs there is a pretty low glycemic load in those carbs. The only downside is there is a fair amount of sodium. Here is a link to them on the Nutrition Data website. I have only used canned chickpeas but if you want to cut down in the sodium in this recipe try to use dried ones. This will require a bit more prep time since they will need to be soaked for several hours. I also like to skin the peas. This takes an extra ten minutes and takes out some fiber, but it gives a much creamier consistency. It’s a personal preference. I measured this one time so that I could write it down but usually I eyeball it. So my flavors are not the same every time. I also like to use roasted veg in my hummus. Especially onions and garlic. Some people use raw for a sharper and less sweet taste. I balance the sweet of the caramelized onions with more lemon juice. You can substitute any other types of raw or cooked veg that you want. My husband likes roasted red sweet peppers and hot peppers. His are usually so hot I can’t eat it. I think he does that on purpose so he can keep it all for himself! So here is how I made it today.

  • 1 can chickpeas (garbanzo beans), rinsed well and I skin them
  • 1/4 cup chopped sun dried tomatoes
  • 1/4 of a large onion, roasted
  • 1 entire small bulb of roasted garlic (yes the whole bulb not just a clove)
  • 2 tablespoons of fresh lemon juice
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons of water (some recipes use the water from the can – more sodium)
  • dash of pepper

I like to roast my garlic with more savory dishes. If you use raw garlic then I would only use one or two cloves and not the whole bulb. Roasting adds some sweetness and balance and mellows out the taste so it isn’t nearly as strong. It’s very easy to do. I take an entire bulb and lop off the top exposing as many garlic cloves as possible. I remove all the extra layers of skin around the outside (not the the ones around each individual clove). Drizzle with olive oil and set on the baking sheet top up with the onions. For the onions I take a quarter onion and cut it in a few chunks and drizzle with olive oil. All goes on the baking sheet for about 30 min at 375 degrees. The onion should be a bit caramelized in spots but not black and burnt. when it is done set these aside and let cool. Very important so you dont burn your hands to work with the garlic. Getting the garlic out is easy. Just grab the bottom of the bulb and squeeze the cloves out. If you did a big bulb save the others for later. Each clove should be squishy and it tastes great spread on bread with some olive oil!

Throw everything in the food processor. A high speed blender will likely work too but you may have to add a bit more liquid to get it smooth. And voila! I served it with half of an avocado and crackers from Mary’s Gone Crackers. They are also gluten free. All my recipes are gluten free or can be make gluten free. Have I mentioned that I have been gluten free for about 12 years? That’s for a later post…

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

